Review: Paper Chains by Nicola Moriarty

@ Goodreads

 

Title: Paper Chains

Author: Nicola Moriarty

Published: Random House Australia February 2013

Synopsis: A heart-warming story of love, friendship and forgiveness – and the crazy twists of fate that shape our lives… Hannah and India are new best friends. Although true friendship means always telling each other the truth, doesn’t it…? Hannah, you see, is running from her life back in Sydney. Now in London, she’s trying to put the past behind her, and finding this amazing new friend is a positive step forward. If only she could stop punishing herself for what she did. India knows Hannah is hiding something big, and she’s determined to figure it out. Fast. Because India has a secret of her own… One that is currently sealed in a love letter that’s making its journey across Europe in the most unconventional way. Before it reaches its destination, can India help Hannah learn to forgive herself? And will Hannah wake up and realise that India needs rescuing too …? Read an extract

Status: Read from January 28 to 29, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy Random House/Netgalley}

My Thoughts:

I was charmed by Nicola Moriarty’s debut novel, Free-Falling and I have been looking forward to the release of Paper Chains. This wonderful contemporary adult novel reveals the secrets of two young Australian women, India and Hannah, who meet while in London.

The deceptively lighthearted introduction to Paper Chains slowly gives way to a compelling tale of heartbreak, loss and hope.
As backpacker India considers her next travel destination, she chooses to befriend the shy and fragile Hannah, seeing her as “…an opportunity, a new project – someone to fix, someone to save” but in truth, Hannah is a distraction for India whose open facade hides heartbreaking secrets of her own.
Hannah is drawn to India’s confidence and warmth, despite being uncomfortable with accepting her attention. Her life in England is a self administered punishment and friendship offers her solace she doesn’t feel she deserves.

With careful timing and sensitivity Moriarty reveals Hannah’s painful secret, one that saw her flee Australia for London, hiding in a grimy flat and punishing herself for her regrets. It focuses on an issue that surprised me for a number of reasons, though none I can reveal without inadvertently giving too much away, and is explored with compassion by the author.
Hannah’s palpable misery distracts from India’s own secret – one that is drifting around the world in the form of a letter addressed simply to Simon, The Aella, a journey we follow in between chapters of the story. There are hints that not all is as it seems with India, from her conflicted feelings about the aforementioned Simon to her determination to rescue Hannah and I was probably more prepared for India’s shocking secret than Hannah’s, but that doesn’t lessen the impact of tragedy, even though it is tempered with hope and love.

Written with compassion and genuine insight, Paper Chains is a poignant tale of friendship, family and forgiveness that will touch your heart. Fans of Monica McInerney, Cecilla Ahern and Anna McPartlin should embrace Nicola Moriarty, and expect more great things to come from this talented author.

Paper Chains is available from today at

@Random House Australia I @BoomerangBooks I @Booktopia I @Amazon Kindle

via Booko

awwbadge_2013

Also by Nicola Moriarty

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret Lynette Sharp
    Feb 01, 2013 @ 20:47:51

    This sounds excellent!
    Congratulations to Nicola Moriarty.

    Like

    Reply

  2. 1girl2manybooks
    Feb 03, 2013 @ 11:16:57

    Great review Shelleyrae, this one was a huge favourite of mine too.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Teddyree
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 12:35:53

    I’ve only just requested this one on NetGalley. Wonderful review Shelleyrae, fingers crossed I get a copy because after your review I can’t wait 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  4. Jo @ Booklover Book Reviews
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 20:05:44

    This sounds excellent. Those Moriarty ladies sure are a talented family.

    Like

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Chick Lit Club Awards, New book release, pet birds and more… | SheWritesWords
  6. Kathryn
    Feb 12, 2013 @ 22:52:13

    Excellent review!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s