Stuff on Sundays: That awkward moment when…

  • You realise during your last book buying spree you bought a 3rd copy of the same book you already own (and still haven’t read)
  • When a stranger on public transport notices you reading their book over their shoulder
  • You have to confess you have never read anything by Jane Austen/Charles Dickens/William Shakespeare
  • You refer to the main character by the wrong name in your review, repeatedly
  • When your party host sees you come out of the bathroom with a book in your hands (and you have been missing for a while)
  • It’s not your lover’s name you cry out in the throes of passion, but the name of your latest book hero crush
  • You are chatting with an author but can’t remember the titles of any of their books
  • When you wake up with print ink smeared on your face after drooling on the open pages of your book.
  • When your boss/teacher figures out its not the staff report/textbook that you are reading so intently but the latest bodice ripper
  • An author thanks you for a review of their book – a review that was not flattering
  • You have to admit you have read The Da Vinci Code/Twilight/ Fifty Shades of Grey and that you liked it

Tell me about your awkward moment?

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elizabeth Lhuede
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 11:56:02

    When you realise you’ve read all of that great stack of books brought home from the library… Thanks for the chuckle, Shelleyrae.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Mystica
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 13:26:07

    We have all been guilty of some of those things some of the time!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Angie Simmonds
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 13:34:15

    This made me laugh since I could relate to almost every single one of them!

    Like

    Reply

  4. miki
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 19:40:42

    ^^yes i can relate to some of these

    Like

    Reply

  5. Nicola
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 19:52:14

    When your husband finds you asleep in bed hugging your latest read!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Margaret Lynette Sharp
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 21:03:32

    How about forgetting your hero or heroine’s name while you’re composing a story….:)

    Like

    Reply

  7. Sue G (@luv2read66)
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 23:27:30

    Oh, I have forgotten names of characters when I’m writing reviews. Thank God I check it all before I post! It’s always awkward when someone tells me about a book I recommended to them and I can’t remember all the super details like they can. I feel like such a fraud–although I did read the book, just a loooong time ago.

    Like

    Reply

  8. laurelrainsnow
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 23:44:30

    I bought another copy of a book I had already read…I guess it wasn’t memorable!

    I wrote a review and inserted the wrong author’s name when shouting out about her talents…UGH. Someone commented on it!

    Definitely not my best moments…lol

    Here’s
    MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    Like

    Reply

  9. Leeswammes
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 03:15:52

    Great moments, Shelleyrae! I hope they didn’t all happen to you.

    My awkward moment is right now, I hereby publicly admit I have read The Da Vinci Code/Twilight/ Fifty Shades of Grey and I liked it. So there!

    Like

    Reply

  10. Tea Time with Marce
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 03:34:20

    Those are hilarious hon, great post, thanks for sharing. So many are good I can’t choose a favourite,lol

    Like

    Reply

  11. Stephanie @ Read in a Single Sitting
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 10:43:15

    *raises hand* guilty of most of these!

    Like

    Reply

  12. Teddyree
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 12:44:12

    bahaha thanks for the laugh Shelleyrae, I’ve experienced a few of those myself πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

  13. therelentlessreader
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 13:50:51

    Ha ha ha! Those are great πŸ˜‰ I can relate to many of those awkward moments, lol

    Like

    Reply

  14. Sean the Bookonaut
    Sep 03, 2012 @ 19:56:34

    Waving and grinning at an author at a conference, having them stare blankly at you and then realising you obviously look nothing like your avatar.

    Like

    Reply

  15. Julie @ Knitting and Sundries
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 01:58:06

    “You realise during your last book buying spree you bought a 3rd copy of the same book you already own (and still haven’t read)”

    Yes; this is what I do …. sigh … THREE copies of “Water for Elephants”? Seriously? WHO does that?

    Like

    Reply

  16. Rachelle Lerner
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 06:15:36

    My moment was thinking a famous author was pregnant when she wasn’t.

    Like

    Reply

  17. Alysia ~ (@lilpocketbooks)
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 02:34:52

    When you leave a party a friend invited you to with several books from the hostess’ bookshelf. Of course I asked her first and yes I will return them…one day. πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

