Review: 21st Century Dodos by Steve Stack

 

Title: 21st Century Dodos: A Collection of Endangered Objects (and other stuff)

Author: Steve Stack

Published: The Friday Project: Harper Collins UK June 2014

Status: Read on June 20, 2014 — I own a copy   {Courtesy the publisher}

My Thoughts:

If you remember sliding your home made mix cassette tape, recorded in silence from the Radio Top 40, into your Walkman and strapping your calculator watch to your wrist before disappearing to play unsupervised in the local park until dinner time, then the nostalgic appeal 21st Century Dodos will be a source of nostalgic appeal.

Subtitled “A collection of endangered objects (and other stuff)” this is a light and humourous tribute to the end of an era. At just forty it seems almost obscene that so much of my childhood is now obsolete – rotary phones, Polaroid cameras, 10c mixed lolly bags (Cobbers were my favourite), school blackboards and roller skates but I enjoyed the reminder of these simple pleasures, and treasures.

It might hearten Steve Stack to know Australia still has Woolworths stores and my boys are currently participating in Bob-a-Job week (though I go door to door with them). Not having grown up in England however there are a lot of things mentioned in the book that I’m unfamiliar with, retailers, television shows and product brands among them.

21st Century Dodos is a fun read, for anyone over about 35 I would think, but as it is heavily skewed towards British culture it is to those readers that grew up in England during the 1970/1980’s that I would recommend this book.

Available to Purchase From

HarperCollins I AmazonUK I BookDepository

AmazonUS I Amazon AU

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patty
    Jul 02, 2014 @ 11:54:35

    That is a very unusual book! Are you feeling better?

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,724 other followers