Weekend Cooking: I’d Eat That by Callum Hann

wkendcooking

I’ve decided to make the Weekend Cooking meme, hosted by Beth Fish Reads  a regular monthly post at Book’d Out. Cooking is something I enjoy and I have been making more of an effort again lately, so I am looking forward to sharing some of my culinary adventures.

********

ideatthatbanner

Callum Hann is another product of the MasterChef phenomenon, he was just 19 when he placed as the  runner up in the 2010 Australian television series. Since then he has spent his time working and learning in some of Australia’s best kitchens, including The Press Club, Maha, Hellenic Republic, and PM24, toured Australian universities teaching students how to cook and eat well, and recently launched his own cooking school in Adelaide, Sprout Cooking. His first recipe book was entitled The Starter Kitchen: Learn how to love to cook, and following on from this theme is his newest cookbook, I’d Eat That! Simple ways to be a better cook.

I was attracted to this cookbook by it’s tag line, I am all for simple! Presented in hardcover with a convenient elasticised bookmark, in addition to over 90 recipes there is  information on cooking fundamentals, a guide to flavour combinations and seasonal produce, tips for entertaining at home and more. I particularly liked the useful ideas about developing and writing your own recipes – a bonus for foodie bloggers.

Recipes are sorted under headings like Morning Glory, Weeknight Dinners, Things you can Eat with your Hands and Anti-garden Salads. The recipes are influenced by a mix of cultures with a focus on fresh, simple and quick. Examples include Zucchini and Prawn Quesadillas, Braised Chicken and Green Mango Salad, Chimichurri Steak Sandwich and Smoked Salmon, Asparagus and Ricotta Frittatas. There are several options for vegetarians including deserts like the 5-Minute Mango and Coconut Icecream and Instant Rasberry and Cranberry Sorbet.

I have to take a salad to a BBQ tomorrow and I’ve decided to try Hann’s Sweetcorn, Red Onion and Smoked Almond Salad. It seems simple but delicious. Meanwhile my oldest daughter is desperate to try the Microwaved Chocolate and Peanut Butter Mug Pudding for one.

Here is a peek at one of the recipes in I’d Eat That.

haloumi

WIN – The ultimate foodie crash course with Callum Hann!
Murdoch Books Australia and Callum Hann are giving one lucky recipe-book-buyer the chance to be guided around Adelaide Markets to learn what he buys, when and why. We’ll fly you and a friend from your nearest capital city and put you both up in Adelaide for two nights! All you need to do is purchase a copy of I’d Eat That (it’s in stores today!) and retain your receipt as POP. Then answer our competition question, cross fingers and wait for the fantastic news! ENTER HERE: http://a.pgtb.me/JKz7tD Full competition terms and conditions are listed on the competition page.

Available to Purchase From

Allen & Unwin I boomerang-books_long I Booktopia I Amazon AU I via Booko I AmazonUS

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth F
    Feb 09, 2014 @ 23:27:02

    Wow, this looks like a great book for experienced and novice cooks alike!

    Reply

  2. joyweesemoll
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 01:57:28

    I love the title of the cookbook! So cool that this young man toured universities to help his peers learn to cook. I’m fascinated that he thought to put “useful ideas about developing and writing your own recipes” in his cookbook.

    Reply

    • shelleyrae @ Book'd Out
      Feb 10, 2014 @ 10:51:43

      I run across so many recipes on foodie blogs etc whose recipes are not terribly well written – sometimes with confusing instructions or using brand names (which we often don’t have in Australia) like Rotel instead of an actual food type. Instructions are useful!

      Reply

  3. notesoflifeuk
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 03:11:00

    This sounds like a great cookbook! I love simple but delicious recipes :)

    Reply

  4. Mari
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 06:32:39

    If it is really easy I am sold. :) Love simple recipes.

    Reply

  5. angrygreycatreads
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 06:43:53

    I’ve never heard of him or seen this book. Sounds like a great gift for a teen or someone learning to cook. I bought something similar for my kids when they were learning to cook: Bite Me by Julie Albert and Lisa Gnat

    Reply

  6. Esme Cococroissants
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 17:13:11

    That salad looks delicious.

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,615 other followers