Review: Killer by Jonathon Kellerman

Title: Killer {Alex Delaware #29}

Author: Jonathon Kellerman

Published: Ballantine Books February 2014

Read an Excerpt

Status: Read from February 04 to 05, 2014 — I own a copy {Courtesy Netgalley/publisher}

My Thoughts:

Killer is Jonathan Kellerman’s 29th novel featuring the child psychologist/law enforcement consultant Alex Delaware, partnered with LAPD detective Milo Sturgis. It begins with Alex being asked to assess the maternal fitness of two sisters involved in a custody dispute. It seems a simple case and his report a mere formality, but denied guardianship of her niece, Constance Sykes blames Alex, and contracts a killer.

It may seem odd to nominate the Alex Delaware series as a ‘comfort read’ but my familiarity with it makes it so for me. I find I easily slip into the rhythm of the narrative, lulled by the soporific voice of the Doctor. I can rely on the personalities, and circumstances, of the main characters remaining largely unchanged and the plots, though somewhat predictable, are always satisfyingly resolved. I have to admit my attachment to the series make it difficult to be objective but honestly even at its worst, you can expect a solidly crafted, readable novel.

Is this Kellerman’s best? No, though perhaps the better of the last half a dozen or so novels. With the fate of a missing toddler in question, Milo and Alex disagree about the identity of the suspect assumed not only responsible for the child’s disappearance, but also a string of related murders. And in the face of mounting evidence, and recent events, Delaware succumbs to a rare display of self doubt.

The last few books have been dominated by Delaware’s role as a law enforcement consultant and I like that in Killer, Delaware returns to his ‘roots’ so to speak, as a child psychologist. A subplot involves the reappearance of a former patient, once a truculent teen struggling with Diabetes, now a gang leader in an unique position to repay Alex for his help. Wile I love Milo, I hope that this is an indication Kellerman will be shifting the focus back to Delaware’s practice.

If you aren’t familiar with the series, I think you could pick this up to read as a stand alone but you’d be missing out. As a long time fan,  I enjoyed Killer, zipping through it in a couple of hours, happy to catch up with old friends and lose myself in a new case.

Available to Purchase

@Ballantine Books I @AmazonUS I @BookDepository

via Booko

The Alex Delaware Series

review

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurelrainsnow
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 14:41:33

    I do love the Alex Delaware character, but haven’t read one of these books in awhile. This one sounds good, as I, too, like the child psychologist in him. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    Reply

  2. stacybuckeye
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 12:59:02

    I read thfirst 5 or 6 of this series many moons ago and have always intended to go back to it. Maybe this is the year!

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,728 other followers