Review: Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy by Helen Fielding

Title: Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy

Author: Helen Fielding

Published: Jonathon Cape October 2012

Read an Extract

Status: Read from December 30 to 31, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy TheReadingRoom – thanks Anna!}

My Thoughts:

I’d forgotten how exhausting Bridget can be, lurching from one crisis to another. Despite being twenty years older, a mother and widow, Bridget has barely changed, but then few of us do all that much.

I laughed more often than I expected, empathising as Bridget struggled with horribly sick children on her own in the middle of the night (if you have ever had to do it this scene will have you laughing and cringing in equal measure). Ugh and nits – the bane of my life! Then there is the running of the school gate gauntlet, the botox debate, twitter, Zumba and online dating.
The idea of ever having to re-enter the dating pool even now at 40, let alone at 50, makes me shudder but neither could I imagine being alone for the rest of my life. I was cheering for Bridget as she sucked in her tummy and warily put herself out there again, and slightly envious that she managed to score herself a toyboy with barely any effort.

I am bemused at how bitter some readers are over Fielding’s decision regarding Mark’s fate, certainly almost everyone under 30 seems to feel personally betrayed by the loss of their happy ever after ending. I think Fielding was both brave and quite brilliant by bucking the norm, much as she did when she wrote Bridget Jones Diary in the first place in giving us a romantic heroine who was not a size 2, sophisticated sylph.

Hilarious, heartbreaking and moving I really enjoyed Mad About The Boy and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to fans of Bridget, – but given the online outrage, not to fans of Mark Darcy.

Available to Purchase From

Random House Au boomerang-books_long  I Booktopia I AmazonAU

via Booko

AmazonUS I AmazonUKBookDepository

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracey
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 16:11:30

    Agreed Shelleyrae! I enjoyed it too – thought it was a great follow-up. It was in keeping with the series and Bridget was true to form. I loved Mark Darcy and I think Helen Fielding did too – the references to him throughout always brought a (wistful) smile.

    Like

    Reply

  2. booksaremyfavouriteandbest
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 16:14:56

    I also loved this book and although I loved Mark Darcy, when I heard he was no longer, I trusted Helen Fielding to do the right thing by Bridget.

    Like

    Reply

  3. 1girl2manybooks
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 13:15:41

    I have to admit, I haven’t read this one and it’s mostly because of the fact that Mark is gone. I’m over 30 (just) but I did love the character and I believe that Fielding fostered & encouraged that by basing him so heavily on Firth’s much loved portrayal of Darcy in the BBC P&P. For me he was the perfect balance to Bridget’s scatty clumsiness and I loved the two of them together. I do think it’s brave that Fielding chose to do something different and unexpected…. but I don’t read books like BJD for dead husband’s, lol.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Kathryn White (@KathrynsInbox)
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 20:59:06

    Glad you liked it. My own feelings about this one were very mixed and that has nothing to do with Mark Darcy. I suspect that I have built up the first two novels in my mind to be something much greater than they were and somehow expected this one to top it … so any disappointment was my own fault. As for Mark Darcy, I feel that this was a sad, but realistic turn of events. Sometimes happily ever afters can only last for so long …

    Like

    Reply

  5. stacybuckeye
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 15:27:30

    I like Darcy but am happy that Fielding was brave enough to put Bridget back out there. That’s reality!

    Like

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Stuff on Sundays: Eclectic Reader Recommendations | book'd out

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,728 other followers