Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Crown of Midnight {Throne of Glass #2}

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Published: Bloomsbury August 2013

Status: Read from August 11 to 13, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher}

My Thoughts:

I really liked Throne of Glass and I have been looking forward to this sequel, Crown of Midnight. I was a little worried that the novel might succumb to the dreaded second book syndrome but all for nought, Crown of Midnight is a terrific read which I enjoyed even more than the first.

Picking up a few months after Celaena was named King’s Champion in Throne of Glass, the book opens as Celaena drops the rotting head of one of Ardalan’s enemies at his feet. As the King’s personal assassin, indentured for four years, she is expected to follow his orders or risk the lives of those she loves, but Celeana walks a fine line between obedience and rebellion.

There is much tragedy for Celaena in Crown of Midnight, the death of a close friend, a betrayal she doesn’t think she can ever forgive and separation from those she cares for. Celaena’s prodigious talents are called upon often but the most deadly action takes place as Celaena seeks revenge and absolution. Bloody, fast paced and Celaena’s adventures left me breathless.

While magic is largely assumed to be extinct in Erilea it begins to make its presence felt in Crown of Midnight. A hooded figure radiating evil lurks in the castle’s library, the spirit of Queen Elena makes another appeal for Celaena’s assistance and an animated doorknocker helps her to solve the mystery of King Ardalan’s power base. Blood outs Celaena, and the Prince, revealing stunning truths in an exciting plot that twists and turns.

Romantically, Celaena makes her choice but betrayal soon tears them apart. *Sigh* I could fall in love with Kings Guard, Captain Chaol Westerfield and their romance is joyful and heartbreaking. However I liked seeing Prince Dorian begin to come into his own in this installment, his loyalty to Celaena and Chaol is admirable given his feelings for them both.

Though ostensibly written for a mature young adult audience I think this fantasy series has plenty to offer to adults of both genders. Crown of Midnight is fast paced, action packed, with great characters and an entertaining story. It is going to seem like a longgg wait for the next book (due out in 2014)!

Available to Purchase from

Bloomsbury I Allen&Unwin BoomerangBooks I Booktopia I Amazon Kindle

via Booko

AmazonUS I AmazonUK I BookDepository

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. megamad4books
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 19:13:51

    I absolutely love Chaol! Great review, cant wait to check it out!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Review: Crown of Midnight, Sarah J Maas - The Oaken BookcaseThe Oaken Bookcase
  3. Evie
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 12:11:21

    I did A LOT of throwing my iPhone away from me during this book (Kindle app :D). I l knew that the happiness Celaena was finally settling into wouldn’t last and within a couple of hours, my emotions changed from being content and making little squealy noises of appreciation to absolute horror….That was when I engaged in the phone throwing sport. God, this was a very hard read but I loved it all the same.

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,643 other followers