Review: Terminated by Rachel Caine

 

Title: Terminated {Revivalist #3}

Author: Rachel Caine

Published: Penguin AU July 2013

Status: Read from July 22 to 23, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/netgalley}

My Thoughts:

I am sad to learn that Terminated concludes Rachel Caine’s Revivalist series. This has a been a fabulous trilogy that overrided my aversion to all things zombie with great characters and an exciting mix of action, conspiracy with the lightest touch of romance. I enjoyed Working Stiff and Two Weeks’ Notice immensely and I hoped that Terminated would provide the conclusion the series deserved.

Picking up where Two Weeks’ Notice left off, Terminated begins as Bryn and her allies flee the compound where Bryn and Riley have been held prisoner and tortured by Patrick’s psychopathic ex wife, Jane. Eluding capture by Jane and her cohorts will not be easy, and what follows includes pitched fire fights, ambushes and explosions where the action is fast paced, the tension high and the body count mounts. Bryn herself is shot point blank in the head, hit by a truck, blown up, shot again (again and again), severely burnt in a brush fire and forced to burrow into her own stomach.

Complicating everything is the secret Bryn and Riley are keeping. During their time in the base they were infected with a new mutation of the Returne. This new strain is self replicating and requires feeding with protein – raw steak, human flesh – the nanites don’t discriminate and now Bryn has to worry about turning on her people.

The end game for Bryn and her allies, Joe, Patrick, Manny, Pansy, Annalie and Liam, is finding the cure for Returne and thwarting the plans of those who are determined to build a new world order. It’s a hell of a wild ride to get there and the resolution is the perfect payoff.

With the story complete, I have no hesitation in recommending The Revivalist trilogy. The combination of urban fantasy, page turning action and kickass characters is irresistible, don’t even try.

Available to Purchase From

Penguin Australia I Boomerang Books I Booktopia I Amazon Kindle

via Booko

Amazon US I Book Depository

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Danielle
    Jul 28, 2013 @ 09:46:32

    ARGH! Okay. I really have to read this one – really, really!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Teddyree
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 17:16:11

    OK, I’m taking your word for it and adding it to my TBR mountain. I’ve enjoyed the first few in her Morganville Vampire series.

    Like

    Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,697 other followers