Review: Dancing With the Devil by Keri Arthur

 

 

Title: Dancing With the Devil {Nikki and Michael #1}

Author: Keri Arthur

Published: Dell July 2013

Read a Sample

Status: Read on July 02, 2013 — I own a copy {Courtesy the publisher/NetGalley}

My Thoughts:

Keri Arthur’s Nikki and Michael four book series was first published about a decade ago and is being re released by Dell this year (2013) at the rate of one book every three months. As I am a fan of the author’s more recent work, particularly her Riley Jensen series, I was eager to sample her first effort.

Dancing With the Devil introduces psychically gifted private investigator Nikki James and 300 year old vampire Michael Kelly. Strangers to each other, they become entangled on a case involving a rebellious, runaway teenager and an evil entity with the power to infiltrate minds and raise the dead.

As Nikki persists in chasing Monica, she makes herself vulnerable to Jasper who uses her as a pawn in the centuries old vendetta between Michael and the murderous vampire. There is plenty of action with both psychic and physical battles of wills taking place, zombies roaming the town at the direction of their master and a ravenous newborn vampire feasting on whomever crosses her path.
Jasper is evil incarnate – he preys on vulnerable young women and craves power. As the daughter of a wealthy business man, Monica is a prize he can’t resist as she offers him access to money His ability to manipulate perception and crazed blood lust makes him a worthy foe for Nikki and Michael.

Nikki is feisty and determined but loaded with misplaced guilt and almost stubborn to a fault. I was interested in her abilities which seem to include psychometry as well as some talent for telekinesis and telepathy and I look forward to learning more about them.
Michael was, as I expected, a broody, tortured vampire who agonises over his nature and doesn’t believe he deserves happiness.

The romance between Nikki and Michael is complicated by their pasts, both have trust issues and therefore there is a lot of push and pull as they fight their desire for one another. The ‘love me, love me not’ trope is not my favourite but the psychic tie created between the couple does give it a slightly different twist.

At the time of initial publication I imagine Dancing With The Devil pushed the boundary between paranormal romance and urban fantasy, as with the story to be continued, there is no happy ever after. I did enjoy this introduction to the series but I wasn’t really excited by it. Hopefully it will hook me as I continue with it.

Available to Purchase from

Random House I AmazonUS I BookDepository

awwbadge_2013

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley @ The Bibliophile's Corner
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 15:45:22

    Ooooo. This sounds really great. I keep meaning to read things by Keri Arthur, but still have not.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Teddyree
    Jul 30, 2013 @ 16:40:05

    I’ve read the first couple of books in her Riley Jensen series and enjoyed them but I like this one quite a bit too, maybe a little more than you Iol.

    Like

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Dancing with the Devil by Keri Arthur – Review | Aussie Bookworm
  4. Trackback: July Round-up of Speculative Fiction (for “adults”) | Australian Women Writers Challenge
  5. Trackback: Speculative fiction in 2013, a wrap-up | Australian Women Writers Challenge

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,725 other followers