Stuff on Sunday: Books for booklovers

 

“Great books should be outstanding not only in literary content but also in their physical form”

I was delighted this week to receive a stunning gift from The Folio Society.   Nestled in an ordinary cardboard box, I discovered four finely crafted  editions  of The Wind in The Willows, The Handmaiden’s Tale, The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and The Lord of the Flies. Elegantly presented in in individual slipcovers, each book has a stunning hardcover design and is beautifully illustrated.

 

The Folio Society publishes hundreds of titles covering fiction, history, biography, science, philosophy, children’s literature, humour, myths and legends and more. They would make wonderful keepsake gifts for a child or a thoughtful gift for a booklover.

Do you own any fine editions? Would you like to?

 

The Folio Society

@Facebook I @Twitter

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 11:23:45

    They are GORGEOUS and I am jealous ;)

    Reply

  2. prettybooks
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 12:00:05

    Ah! You reminded me that I wanted to post The Folio Society video. I saw it at a conference and thought others may like to see it. I personally really love The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – it is blue and GLITTERY.

    Reply

  3. Elizabeth Lhuede
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 13:09:02

    They do look like fine books – lucky you. I’d love the Wind in the Willows one.

    As you know, I just read Kate Morton’s The Secret Keeper in hardback, and it’s beautifully presented with a ribbon bookmark and lovely inside cover print. It does make a difference.

    Reply

    • shelleyrae @ Book'd Out
      Nov 11, 2012 @ 14:06:15

      I received the hardback copy as well Elizabeth but I had a paperback ARC and read that instead because I didn’t want to accidentally spoil such a pretty book.

      Reply

  4. guiltlessreader (@guiltlessreader)
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 14:09:41

    Gorgeous! ANy booklover would love them. I’m going to go check them out now!

    Reply

  5. Rachelle Lerner
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 16:08:17

    They are nice.

    Reply

  6. Marg
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 16:40:46

    I do love the look of their books but I don’t own any! One day maybe!

    Reply

  7. brendat59
    Nov 11, 2012 @ 20:40:45

    Wow Shelleyrae they are gorgeous:) Lucky (but well-deserving) you :)

    Reply

  8. laurelrainsnow
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 02:31:58

    Oh, I am drooling with book envy! I love books with beautiful illustrations…I do have two very old books (that I’ve had to repair twice); they are children’s books given to my mother in 1921. They are no longer in print. One is by the author of “Heidi,” called “Cornelli.” And the other is called “Elsie Dinsmore,” which I’ve never seen anywhere else.

    I loved reading them over and over as a kid; I now have them on my dining room Baker’s Rack. At my Sunday Salon post, you can glimpse them on a top shelf (they are red).

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

    Reply

  9. Stephanie @ Read in a Single Sitting
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 09:36:22

    Yay! These are the same ones that I have, and they’re just so beautiful. I know where I’m doing all of my Christmas shopping this year!

    Reply

  10. Mari @Bookworm with a View
    Nov 12, 2012 @ 11:27:59

    I hope I’m back blogging too! The few times I have wanted to write a post I wasn’t able to find the words… oddly it was the medication that was making me better that magnified everything and make me worse. So the doctors are stumped. I can’t take the one antibiotic that will kill the virus.

    Have a wonderful week – I hope you are doing ok, feeling good! Do you have any book recommendations for me.

    Reply

    • shelleyrae @ Book'd Out
      Nov 12, 2012 @ 13:02:58

      So glad to *see* you again Mari. I’ve read some lovely books lately that I think you would enjoy Mari including Kate Morton’s The Secret Keeper, Miss Dreamsville and the Collier County Women’s Literary Society by Amy Hill and The House of Memories by Monica McIerney (all available in the US)

      Reply

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,611 other followers