Review: Tree of Life by Elita Faith Daniels

Title: Tree Of Life {Part 1}

Author: Elita Faith Daniels

Published: June 2010

Sypnosis: Wrath, vengeance, hatred, cannot breathe the same atmosphere as love. And so it was that love began to wither and withdraw… Among the ageless quietude of the elves, Deacon, a mortal, suffers the inescapable awareness of mortality. He lived in what many deemed perfection, but a dark uncertainty plagued him that there lay treachery in it all. When secrets of his mysterious heritage are revealed, the young mage is thrown into a revolt of confusion, and in an unwholesome vent of misery, travels a path of unforgivable deeds. One of the few left of his kind – a race whose magical energies are vigorously interwoven with their lifeforce – Deacon is drawn into a world that turns into an involution of evil and death. The fate that awaits him will have immeasurable consequences far beyond his control

Status: Read from December 10 to 17, 2010 — I own a copy

My Thoughts:

The Tree of Life is a epic fantasy novel that combines adventure, romance and magic.
There were many aspects of this novel that I found appealing. I thought the world building creative and original with its mix of mages, sorceres, elves and other creatures. I thought the imagery and description exquisite and the language stunningly lyrical.
With so much going for it, I find it frustratingly difficult to articulate why I lost interest. I began to struggle about half way through and I have to admit I ended up skimming through most of the last half. High Fantasy is something I rarely read, and though I hate to admit defeat, this book is simply not for me.

I truly can’t attribute my lack of interest to any obvious flaw in the novel,  its simply a matter of personal preference. If you are a fan of the genre I recommend you view the stunning trailer below and listen to an excerpt at the website Tree of Life

@ Goodreads

I want to know what you think! Your comments are appreciated.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,491 other followers